I’m a huge supporter of the public library (in this case the Toronto Public Library). I can borrow a cookbook and try out the recipes before I commit to buying it. I saw this cookbook The Healthy Coconut Flour Cookbook by Erica Kerwien. Erica has a website called Comfy Belly (http://comfybelly.com/); and there’s a fantastic post on her blog about Baking with Coconut Flour (http://comfybelly.com/2012/06/baking-with-coconut-flour-2/#.Vf8CVdJViko). It really explained a lot to me since this is the first time that I’ve used coconut flour to bake with.

Coconut flour is by no means cheap. I thought buying Gluten Free flour was expensive, I found coconut flour to be double the price and less the weight. Although from what I’ve been reading, you much less coconut flour as it bulks up when you mix it with the wet ingredients. However, buying coconut flour is still something to be mindful about especially if you are on a tight budget like me.

Anyway, I perused through the many recipes and stumbled across Pumpkin Muffins. I had just made a mix of pumpkin pie spice and had canned pumpkin in my cupboard. I chose not to make large muffins as I wanted something more of a snack and decided to make mini-muffins with the smaller muffin pan. It was very easy to make and I ended up with 36 mini-muffins. I used a small ice cream scoop to measure out each portion. It turned out really well and is quite tasty and not dense as when using gluten free flour. I’m excited to try another recipe.

Leave a Reply

