I love being able to try out a few recipes before committing to buy a cookbook. I’m loving The Healthy Coconut Flour Cookbook by Erica Kerwien which I’ve already made her Pumpkin Muffins and Spiced Pumpkin Bread. I had left over zucchini which allowed me to try Erica’s Chocolate’s Zucchini Bread which I made for my landlady. I stole a piece and it tasted of chocolaty goodness! It was nice that it wasn’t super sweet which I prefer.

Here’s what it looks like after taking it out from the oven.

I did try my hand at the Chocolate Chip Cookies to make now and bake later. I was hesitate to use almond flour (it’s by no means cheap, it’s more expensive then coconut flour). I did some reading on almond flour to which Erica’s website does a nice job of providing a brief summary of almond flour (http://comfybelly.com/2009/01/baking-with-almond-flour/#.VhE72OxViko). My mixture was pretty wet and I definitely could not roll the dough into a log. My final roll has to be the skinniest dough log! I guess that means more cookies for me!

 

 

Leave a Reply

